Sabah Parks – The body who manage Mount Kinabalu

Sabah ParksSome of us may not know that Mount Kinabalu is managed and conserved by Sabah Parks, the trustee body which was constituted since 1962. The functions of Sabah Parks are ” To preserve for all time areas which contains significant geographical, geological, biological and historical features as a national heritage for the benefit, education, and enjoyment of the people”. Sabah Parks also support an ongoing research and conservation project in all the gazetted parks under the trustee.

For your information, there are another 6 parks apart from Kinabalu, under their trustees, i.e:

  1. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park
  2. Turtle Island Park
  3. Pulau Tiga Park
  4. Bukit Tawau Park
  5. Crocker Range National Park
  6. Tun Sakaran Marine Park

If you notice, Sipadan Island is not under Sabah Parks – yet. That is why the management of the island is some kind haywire…

More information on Sabah Park here.

This entry was posted in Discover Sabah on by .

About drizad

A self employed General Practitioner who lives with his lovely family in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. He dedicates his spare time serving people with precious information on climbing the Majestic Mountain of the Borneo, Mt Kinabalu. Reachable at drizad(at)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.